How Does A Person’s License Get Revoked?

In North Carolina, authorities can revoke a person’s driver’s license for a number of reasons, including:

  • Failure to appear in court
  • Accumulation of too many traffic violations
  • DWI conviction
  • Failure to pay court fines and fees
  • Failure to complete necessary requirements to have driving privileges restored

Under North Carolina law, a first conviction of driving with a revoked license can result in suspension of your license for 12 months; a second conviction can result in suspension of your license for 24 months; a third conviction could result in permanent revocation of your license. Upon being permanently revoked, a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) hearing is required to determine if and when you would be eligible to have your license reinstated.

Helping You Get Back On The Road

Get help with your Charlotte, NC License & DMV case

The mobility provided by having legal driving privileges and a trustworthy vehicle are essential to most adults’ lives. Coping with a revoked driver’s license can be next to impossible.

In fact, many individuals whose licenses have been revoked choose to drive anyway. This compounds the problem if they are stopped by police and cited for operating a motor vehicle while their driver’s licenses were revoked. Now, they are faced with possible jail time on top of extending the amount of time their licenses will be revoked.